Basket Weave Scarf

(Yet another work in progress!)

I’ve been working on this scarf for a little while now. I was hoping to have it finished by the time it got cold but that didn’t quite work out. But anyway the name of the yarn was “French Country” and it made me think of a basket so I found a basket weave pattern and decided to knit a scarf. This was my first time not really knitting from a pattern, but it’s a scarf so I figured I could handle it.

(Good book)

I found this book and, while feeling brave, decided to knit something with only a stitch in mind. This book has a great section for creating your own knitting designs so I would highly recommend it. (On a side note for a long time I did not realize the title was “The Knitting Directory” not “The Knitting Dictionary“. I kept telling people about the about “The Knitting Dictionary”.)

I should take a moment to say I really like Red Heart Super Saver Yarn. Not only is it affordable, but it’s super quick and easy to knit scarfs with. They also have quite a selection of variegated yarns which I like to use when I’m knitting scarves. (For whatever reason I feel like I’m knitting faster with variegated yarn.) So there was my little plug for Red Heart yarn. Maybe now they’ll send me some free stuff.

One thought on “Basket Weave Scarf

  1. I’m deep into knitting at the moment and belong to a group. We’re making socks, and I’m no good at it but will stay the course until they’re finished. Then I’ll try again to see if I can get better, but I may be suited for less intricate knitting, like scarves, or perhaps a sweater. I like your basketweave, AND your colors.

Leave a Reply

